How do I manage my links to Google Classroom?

In Chalk, you can link your subjects and students to existing Google Classroom classes, which can be useful for setting up your subjects, keeping your student rosters up-to-date, and is necessary for Chalk Gold features such as sharing assessments to Google Classroom. This support article goes over how to manage your links to Google Classroom, sync your class roster in Markboard, and troubleshoot issues with linking to your Google account.

Note: It is not necessary to link your subjects in order to share lessons to Google Classroom.

Linking Subjects

Step 1:

Navigate to the Subjects page by clicking the gear icon in the top-right corner, then clicking Subjects.

Step 2:

Click the Google Classroom icon to the right of the subject you want to link.

Step 3:

Click Sign in with Google and follow the instructions to sign into your Google account.

Step 4:

After signing into your Google account, you can select which classes to link from the drop-down menu, as shown below. You can link one Google Classroom per section within Chalk.

Step 5:

Once you have linked all necessary sections within your subject, click Save. You will see the icon on the Subjects page in Chalk will display the number of linked classes (a maximum of one per section).

This feature is not available for mobile.

This feature is not available for mobile.

Unlinking Subjects

Step 1:

Navigate to the Subjects page by clicking the gear icon in the top-right corner, then clicking Subjects.

Step 2:

Click the linked icon to the right of the subject you want to unlink.

Step 3:

In the following window, you can click the Unlink this class button to remove the Google Classroom link, or you can select a different class to link to from the drop-down menu. Click Save when finished to save your changes.

This feature is not available for mobile.

This feature is not available for mobile.

Syncing Students

If changes are made to your student roster in Google Classroom (such as students being transferred in or out of your class), you can sync your list of students in Markboard to ensure the student lists match between these applications.

To find out how to import your student roster into Markboard from Google Classroom, please read this support article.

Step 1:

Within Markboard, select the subject that you would like to sync students for, then click the Students tab.

Step 2:

Click the Sync Students button in the top-right corner.

Note: If you do not see this button, your subject has not yet been linked to a class in Google Classroom, and you can follow the instructions in this support article to link your subject and import your student roster from Google Classroom.

Step 3:

The following window will display any differences between your student rosters in Markboard and Google Classroom.

From here you can import missing students from Google Classroom by selecting the checkboxes to the right of the student names. If a student is on your roster in Markboard that is not in your Google Classroom, you can link them to an existing student in Google Classroom or unenroll them from your subject in Markboard.

Step 4:

Click Save when finished.

This feature is not available for mobile.

This feature is not available for mobile.

Unlinking Students

Step 1:

Within Markboard, select the subject that you would like to sync students for, then click the Students tab.

Step 2:

Click the linked icon to the right of the student you want to unlink.

Step 3:

Confirm that you have read the warning message by checking the box, then click Yes, Unlink.

Step 4:

The student will be unlinked from this Google Classroom, and the icon next to their name will be changed to reflect this.

Note: You can click the unlinked icon to link this student to another student in Google Classroom, or to unenroll them from this subject.

This feature is not available for mobile.

This feature is not available for mobile.