How do I manage my links to Google Classroom and Schoology?

In Chalk, you can link your classes and students to existing Google Classroom or Schoology courses, which can be useful for setting up your classes, keeping your student rosters up-to-date, and is necessary for Chalk Gold features such as sharing assessments. This support article goes over how to manage your links to Google Classroom and Schoology, sync your class roster in Markboard, and troubleshoot issues with linking your accounts.

Note: It is not necessary to link your class in order to share lessons to Google Classroom or Schoology.

Linking Classes

Step 1:

Click the Planboard menu at the top of the page, then click Timetable.

Step 2:

Hover your cursor over the class you would like to edit and click the gear icon that appears.

Step 3:

In the following window, click Show Advanced Options.

Click the Integrations tab, then click the link icon to the right of the integration you wish to link to.

Step 4:

Follow the instructions to sign into your Google or Schoology account.

Step 5:

After signing into your Google or Schoology account, you can select which classes to link from the drop-down menu, as shown below. You can link multiple classes to the same Google Classroom or Schoology course, but cannot link multiple integrations to the same class in Chalk.

Step 6:

Once you have selected the class to link to, click Save. You will see the icon on the Integrations tab will now display the unlink action.

This feature is not available for mobile.

This feature is not available for mobile.

Unlinking Classes

Step 1:

Click the Planboard menu at the top of the page, then click Timetable.

Step 2:

Hover your cursor over the class you would like to edit and click the gear icon that appears.

Step 3:

In the following window, click Show Advanced Options.

Click the Integrations tab, then click the unlink icon to the right of the integration you wish to unlink.

Step 4:

In the following window, you can click the Unlink this class button to remove the link, or you can select a different class to link to from the drop-down menu. Click Save when finished to save your changes.

This feature is not available for mobile.

This feature is not available for mobile.

Syncing Students

If changes are made to your student roster in Google Classroom or Schoology (such as students being transferred in or out of your class), you can sync your list of students in Markboard to ensure the student lists match between these applications.

Step 1:

Within Markboard, select the class that you would like to sync students for, then click the Students tab.

Step 2:

Click the Sync Google or Sync Schoology button in the top-right corner.

Note: If you do not see this button, your class in Chalk has not yet been linked to a class in Google Classroom or Schoology, and you can follow the instructions in this support article to link your class and import your student roster from Google Classroom, or this support article to do so for Schoology.

Step 3:

The following window will display any differences between your student rosters in Markboard and your linked LMS.

From here you can import missing students from Google Classroom or Schoology by selecting the checkboxes to the right of the student names. If a student is on your roster in Markboard that is not in your LMS class, you can link them to an existing student or unenroll them from your class in Markboard.

Step 4:

Click Save when finished.

This feature is not available for mobile.

This feature is not available for mobile.

Unlinking Students

Step 1:

Within Markboard, select the class that you would like to sync students for, then click the Students tab.

Step 2:

Click the linked icon to the right of the student you want to unlink.

Step 3:

Confirm that you have read the warning message by checking the box, then click Yes, Unlink.

Step 4:

The student will be unlinked from this Google Classroom or Schoology course, and the icon next to their name will be changed to reflect this.

Note: You can click the unlinked icon to link this student to another student in Google Classroom or Schoology, or to unenroll them from this classes.

This feature is not available for mobile.

This feature is not available for mobile.