How do I share my lesson plans to Google Classroom and Schoology?

This is a feature available to Chalk Gold subscribers and teachers whose schools are subscribed to the Instruction Solution. You will not have this option if you are a free user.

This article will show you how to share lessons from Planboard to your existing Google Classroom or Schoology. The lessons will be added as a public link, and any saved changes made to the original lessons will be viewable by the students in your Google Classroom or Schoology course.

Please complete your Google Classroom or Schoology setup before attempting to share lessons through Planboard.

Note: You can share either single lessons, a day's worth of lessons, or a week's worth of lessons for all subjects to Google Classroom. If sharing a Day or Week's worth of lessons, anyone with the public link will be able to see all lessons for the chosen timeframe. Please be mindful not to include information in your lesson plans that you don't want others to access.

Sharing lessons to Google Classroom

Step 1:

The first step to sharing to Google Classroom depends on how many lessons you wish to share.

To share a single lesson: Navigate to the lesson you wish to share to Google Classroom from any view in Planboard. Open the lesson and click the Options drop-down menu in the lesson editor, then click on Classroom.

To share a full day of lessons: Navigate to the day you wish to share to Google Classroom from the Day View in Planboard. Click the Share button in the top-right corner of the window, then click on the Google Classroom tab.

To share a full week of lessons: Navigate to the week you wish to share to Google Classroom from the Week View in Planboard. Click the Share button in the top-right corner of the window, then click on the Google Classroom tab.

Step 2:

Select which type of post to make on Google Classroom from the drop-down menu and add any additional information, such as the title or instructions for your post. Click Share to move on to the next step.

Note: Don't worry, you will still be able to review and edit this information before it posts to your Google Classroom.

Step 3:

In the pop-up window, log in to your Google Account with your credentials. If you have browser cookies enabled, you will not need to log in each time you share a lesson to Google Classroom.

Click Next to continue.

Step 4:

Select the class you would like to share your lesson to from the Choose Class drop-down menu.

Step 5:

Here you can edit the details of your Google Classroom post, such as the title and instructions, which students can see the post, or the due date and point total if you are posting your lesson as an assignment. Your lesson will be attached to the post under "Materials", and the information you entered in Step 2 will already be filled in for the appropriate fields.

When you have finished entering the information you want to send to your Google Classroom, click Post.

Optional: You can schedule your lesson to be posted at a particular time by clicking on the three dots in the top-right corner of the window, then clicking Schedule.

Select the date and time you would like your lesson to be made available to your students, then click Schedule to finish.

Step 6:

Your lesson has now been posted to your Google Classroom! Students can click on the attached link to view the lesson in their browsers. You can click the "View" button to open a browser tab to see your Google Classroom post.

Unfortunately, this feature is not yet available for mobile devices.

Unfortunately, this feature is not yet available for mobile devices.

Sharing lessons to Schoology

Step 1:

Navigate to the lesson you wish to share to Schoology from any view in Planboard. Open the lesson and click the Share button in the lesson editor, then click on the Schoology tab.

Step 2:

Click Sign in with Schoology and follow the instructions to access your account. You will not need to perform this step if your subjects are already linked to Schoology.

Step 3:

Select which Schoology course you want to share to, then use the drop-down menu to select whether you would like to share the lesson as a material or update for your students.

Step 4:

If you are uploading the lesson as an update, you can enter a title and message to be displayed with the lesson. The lesson will be added to the update as an attachment. Click Post Update when finished.

If you are uploading the lesson as a material, you can enter a title and then click Add to Materials. You will then need to select which folder to save your lesson to. Click Add It Here when finished.

Step 5:

Your lesson has now been posted to your Schoology! You can click the "View" button to open a browser tab to see your Schoology post.

Unfortunately, this feature is not yet available for mobile devices.

Unfortunately, this feature is not yet available for mobile devices.